to access this module:
|Access ___ behaviour incidents|
|Configure behaviour schemes|
Locations are used in PARS to record where events are occurring. You can use this data to organise detentions, host extra curricular classes, analyse behaviour and create heat maps. When teachers record behaviour via their register, PARS will use the details from your SIMS timetable to work out which room the teacher is in; teachers do not have to input this information themselves!
The configure locations page
The locations page will show you a list of locations. Typically these will be in alphabetical order, although you can alter this by selecting a location and click the "Move up" or "Move down" buttons to reposition the location in the list. These locations will usually match the list of rooms and locations that you have in SIMS.
Importing locations from SIMS
If you want to import all of the locations from your SIMS database into PARS, click the "Import from SIMS" button from the top toolbar. This will populate the Locations list.
When a location has been imported from SIMS, it will show the letter S in the locations list.
Once a location has been locked down as above, you can hide it from this page by clicking the "Toggle Hidden" button from the top toolbar.
Manually adding and editing locations
If you want to create a new location e.g. "On the bus" then click the "Add" button from the top toolbar. The only information you need to provide is the name of the location. Alternatively you may want to rename an existing location. To do this, select the location from the list and then click the "Edit" button from the top toolbar.
If a location has been manually added or edited, it will show the letter O in the locations list.
Deleting and hiding locations
If a location has never been used you can delete it by selected the location and then clicking the "Delete" button from the top toolbar. If you try to delete a location that has been used, PARS will tell you "You cannot delete this location, as it is in use in X incident(s)."
If this is the case, but you do not want staff to use the location any more, then you can hide it instead. To do this, select the location and then click the "Toggle visible state" button. This will not delete the location, but will hide it from staff so that it cannot be used. Locations that have been hidden will display a padlock on the locations list.